BANG!

university of bath anglican society

BANG! is part of Bath University Students' Union

You are here: Home > Past Events > Previous Programmes > Spring 2000
  
Previous programmes – Spring 2000
We thought we'd got this terms' programme sorted out well in advance. Wrong! Things have changed so much it's worth checking out the latest version of events even if you think you know what's happening! We've got some exciting things planned, so why not come along to see how they go? Unless specified, meetings begin after 5.20pm evening prayer in the Chaplaincy Centre.

Thursday 13th January: Random Christian Quiz
An evening with an intriguing title led by Catherine.

Thursday 20th January: Discussion led by Barry Chapman
"The entanglement of the creator in the creation"

Thursday 27th January: Hermine Wieker talks to BANG! about the Lutheran church

Thursday 3rd February: Bible study led by Tim

Sunday 6th February: BANG! meet up in town after morning services to have Sunday lunch together

Thursday 10th February: Annual General Meeting
Who wants to be president then?

Thursday 17th February: Homelessness workshop led by Matthew - something a little bit different!

Friday 18th to Sunday 20th February: The BANG! retreat  Be there or...!

Thursday 24th February: Chaplaincy Lecture
"Re-engineering Creation" Prof. Sam Berry, professor of genetics at University College, London, gives a lecture on the ethics of genetic manipulation, beginning at 6.30pm in the Chaplaincy Centre. A free ticket is need for entry to this event and there are very few left. Pop into the Chaplaincy Centre to get one. BANG! will meet in the Chaplaincy Centre at 5.20pm for evening prayer and then move over to the Parade Bar at 5.30pm for pre-lecture relaxation.

Thursday 2nd March: Homelessness workshop led by Matthew  Please note, this meeting is in 3 East 2.4, where we will hold evening prayer at 5.20pm and the meeting at 5.30pm.

Sunday 5th March: BANG! evening service at 8.00pm in the Chaplaincy Centre, followed by food.
Brother Kevin SSF, a Franciscan friar who will be visiting the Chaplaincy in this week, will talk about his life and lead Franciscan prayers.

Tuesday 7th March: It's Shrove Tuesday, and that means one thing - PANCAKES! As normal, BANG! will decend on an innocent members house to gorge themselves before giving up all things pleasurable for lent (honest)! Send BANG! an e-mail for more details.

Wednesday 8th March: Ash Wednesday service at 8.00am in the Chaplaincy Centre, followed by breakfast.

Thursday 16th March: The BANG! Forum
Following the "Time of Our Lives" event in London during May 1999, BANG! meet up with other young Anglicans from Bath and representatives from Bath and Wells diocese to discuss how we see that church, what we would like it to do for us and what we could for it. This meeting begins at 7.30pm.

Thursday 23rd March: BANG! trip to Wells for prayer pilgrimage around the Cathedral, a tour of the diocesan resource centre (very useful for you new committee members) and take away food in the Old Deanary. Departs from the Chaplaincy Centre at 6.15pm. E-mail BANG! to book your place.

Thursday 30th March: Sarah and Kirsty's all singing, all dancing skittles event!
- don't ask me, that's what they called it at the meeting!

Thursday 6th April: BANG! Easter Social
Easter egg hunt, chocolate nests, the works!