BANG!

university of bath anglican society

BANG! is part of Bath University Students' Union

You are here: Home > Past Events > Previous Programmes > Autumn 1999
  
Previous programmes – Autumn 1999
Thursday 30th September: Introductory session and discussion entitled "Change" led by Catherine.

Thursday 7th October: Discussion led by Matthew. "The Spirit Unifies"

Thursday 14th October: Pub quiz and newspaper challenge!

Thursday 21st October: Chaplaincy Lecture at 6.30pm - "What values for higher education in the next millennium?" Entrance by free ticket only, tickets are available from the Chaplaincy Centre. BANG! meet in the Parade Bar at 5.30pm for a chat, and those who want to then move on to the lecture.

Thursday 28th October: Discussion led by Sarah. "Saying Wait to God"

Wednesday 3rd November: "A time to grieve - A time to hope" An end to war and genocide in the next millennium? A day of events in Bath Abbey. Vigils and exhibitions from 10.00am to 4.30pm. Service, including student contribution, at 7.30pm.

Thursday 4th November: No BANG! meeting today as no one will come - it's RAG week and you've all gone home!

Thursday 11th November: Workshop led by Matthew. A look at the Jubilee 2000 campaign and what BANG! can do based on the latest Christian Aid campaign pack.

Thursday 18th November: BANG! film night Kirsty's in charge as we watch "The Truman Show" and then reflect on the film can be seen as a modern day parable! Or something like that! Please bring some suitable food (popcorn!) to share with everyone.

Thursday 25th November: Visiting speaker - Ellie Mensingh. The Student Christian Movement's (SCM) groups worker talks to BANG! about the SCM's history and current work.

Thursday 2nd December: Discussion on Advent led by Sue Henderson. Sue is the university URC chaplain and minister at Central United Reformed Church, Bath.

Wednesday 8th December: BANG! Christmas Meal BANG!'s annual Christmas celebration in a member's house will cost 5 pounds, which includes a donation to charity. We plan to meet at the 18/418/419 bus stop by the railway station at 7.00pm.

Thursday 16th December: University carol service. Begins at 7.30pm in Bath Abbey, but arrive between 6.45pm and 7.00pm to make sure you get a good seat! Afterwards, BANG! retire to the Crystal Palace to celebrate the end of the term.